International Sanctions Updates

Return to Public Policy Homepage
The IUA produces a quarterly spreadsheet outlining current international sanctions measures and provides further updates as required. Click the links below for the latest information. 
This information has been collated by the International Underwriting Association of London and is intended as a guide only. The IUA does not accept any liability for the accuracy of this information.
This publication is intended to convey only general information about sanctions legislation and associated insurance coverage. It is not, and is not intended to be, a complete statement of the law relating to this area. It should not be relied on or be used as a substitute for legal advice in relation to any particular set of circumstances. Accordingly, IUA does not accept any liability for any loss which may arise from reliance on this information.

Additional sanctions not listed by country

  • In addition to the Countries/States listed above, UK restrictions on the export of strategic goods & transit controls exist for many others. Details are available from the DIT website.
  • The UK has arms embargoes in place against Armenia and Azerbaijan (including Nagorno-Karabakh region), through enforcement of the decision of the OSCE Senior Officials Committee (Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe).       
  • US do not have sanctions targeting Afghanistan specifically, however, the UN sanctions are enforced through the Counter Terrorism Sanctions regime. There is also a US arms embargo in place for Afghanistan. 
  • From the 1st Apr 2017, all new UN sanctions are directly applicable in the UK.
  • British Overseas Territories to which application of sanctions extends to: Anguilla; British Antarctic Territory; British Indian Ocean Territory; Cayman Islands; Falkland Islands; Montserrat; Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands; St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha; South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands; the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia in the Island of Cyprus; Turks and Caicos Islands; and Virgin Islands.
  • In addition to the countries noted above, there is an existing arms embargos against Eritrea.
  • The US has introduced sanctions and other measures (to be designed and calibrated in light of specific facts) against those determined to have participated in foreign interference in US elections.
  • Effective 31 Dec 2020 the UK no longer has sanctions targeting Egypt, Ukraine and Tunisia as specific countries. Instead, the UK has replaced them with the new “Misappropriation (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2020” which allows for sanctions to be put in place for persons involved in the misappropriation of state funds from a country outside the UK.

Sanctions Updates